Lil Nas X, ‘Pose’ & More – Billboard


Lil Nas X won the award for Outstanding Music Artist during the second half of the 2022 GLAAD Media Awards, held at the Hilton Midtown in New York City on Friday, May 6. The first half of the awards took place at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles on Saturday, April 2.

To explore

See the latest videos, graphics and news

See the latest videos, graphics and news

This is the second time in three years that Lil Nas X has won the Outstanding Music Artist award. He also won the award in 2020. Sam Smith won last year. Lil Nas X is the eighth repeat winner for Outstanding Musical Artist in the show’s history. Melissa Etheridge, Rufus Wainwright, kd lang and Scissor Sisters have each won the award three times. Indigo Girls, Lady Gaga and Tegan and Sara have also won it twice.

The “Elliot Page” episode of The Oprah Conversation won an Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode. In the episode, Winfrey spoke with the former Ellen Page, the Oscar-nominated star of the 2007 film Junowho publicly came out as transgender in December 2020. In a high-profile moment for a transgender star, Page joined her Juno co-stars Jennifer Garner and JK Simmons will present an award at this year’s Oscars in March.

Company and thoughts of a person of color The Bound Man as an Outstanding Broadway Production. Companystarring Katrina Lenk in a genre-switching revival of Stephen Sondheim’s acclaimed 1970 musical, is considered this year’s favorite to win a Tony Award for best revival of a musical. Thoughts of a colored man is expected to receive a Best Game nomination. (Tony nominations will be announced Monday, May 9).

Transgender artist and actress Peppermint co-hosted the GLAAD Media Awards with famed Peloton instructor Cody Rigbsy.

Dove Cameron performed her single “Boyfriend,which climbs to No. 31 on this week’s Billboard Hot 100. Michael R. Jackson performed excerpts from his Pulitzer Prize-winning Broadway musical A strange loop, which is considered the favorite to win this year’s Tony Award for Best Musical.

During the ceremony, GLAAD announced the winners of several categories live on stage. They included Laid (Outstanding Drama Series); the Today the segment of the program “HIV/AIDS: 40 Years Later” (outstanding television journalism segment); Power Rangers (exceptional programming for children and family); and sesame street (exceptional programs for children).

Judith Light received GLAAD’s Excellence in Media Award from recent Oscar winner and upcoming Tony Awards host Ariana DeBose. Wilson Cruz received the Vito Russo Award.

“This year’s GLAAD Media Awards come at a time when LGBTQ visibility and storytelling may be the frontline response to a dangerous rise in anti-LGBTQ legislation across the country,” said Sarah Kate Ellis, President and CEO of GLAAD, in a statement. “Our nominees and winners… showcase the beautiful diversity of LGBTQ people.”

Ellis, Rich Ferraro and Anthony Allen Ramos served as executive producers for the GLAAD Media Awards. Crystal Butler, Melissa Harris, John McCourt, Johanna Osburn, Matthew Zaccagni were producers. Juana Guichardo and Jose Useche were associate producers and Wendy Shanker was head writer.

The nominees for the 33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards were published, aired or broadcast in calendar year 2021. For a full list of nominees, click here. For more information, visit

Here is a complete list of all the winners of the 33rd Annual GLAAD Media Awards in New York and Los Angeles:

Outstanding Music Artist: Lil Nas X, Montero (Columbia Records)

Outstanding Breakthrough Musical Artist: Lily Rose, Stronger than me (Big Loud Records/Back Blocks Music/Republic Records)

Outstanding Broadway Production (Tie): Company and Thoughts of a colored man

Outstanding Film – Wide Distribution: Eternals (Walt Disney Studios Cinema)

Outstanding Film – Limited Release: Parallel mothers (Sony Pictures Classics)

Best Drama Series: Laid (FX)

Best Comedy Series: saved by the bell (Peacock)

Outstanding Reality Program (Equality): RuPaul’s Drag Race (VH1) and We are here (HBO)

Best New TV Series: hacks (HBO Max)

Outstanding Documentary: Change the game (Hulu)

Best TV Movie: Single until the end (Netflix)

Limited or exceptional anthology series: It’s a sin (HBOMAX)

Outstanding Children’s Programming: “Family Day” sesame street (HBO Max)

Exceptional programming for children and family: Power Rangers: Dino Fury (Nickelodeon/Netflix)

Outstanding Video Game: Life is Strange: True Colors (Deck Nine Games/Square Enix)

Outstanding comic: Crush & Lobo (DC Comics)

Best Original Graphic Novel/Anthology: Comfort! Love and Pompoms (OniPress)

Outstanding Overall Magazine Coverage: the lawyer

Outstanding Variety or Talk Show Episode: “Elliot Page” The Oprah Conversation (AppleTV+)

Outstanding Television Journalism Segment: “HIV/AIDS: 40 years later” today (NBC)

Outstanding TV Journalism – long version: “White House Pride” (MSNBC)

Outstanding Print Item: “Legislators Can’t Cite Local Examples of Trans Girls in Sport” by David Crary and Lindsay Whitehurst (The Associated Press)

Outstanding Online Journalism Article: “‘No Time for Intolerance:’ Dr. Rachel Levine Has a Job to Do” by Dawn Ennis (

Outstanding Online Journalism – Video or Multimedia: “Transnational” [series] by Eva Reign, Alyza Enriquez, Freddy McConnell, Vivek Kemp, Courtney Brooks, Sarah Burke, Hendrik Hinzel, Alyza Enriquez, Dan Ming, Trey Strange and Daisy Wardell (VICE News)

Outstanding Blog: Pittsburgh Lesbian Pen pals

Best Scripted Television Series in Spanish: Maricon Lost (HBO Max)

Outstanding Spanish-Language Television Journalism: “Orgullo LGBTQ: 52 Años de Lucha y Evolución” (Telemundo 47)

Outstanding article on online journalism in Spanish (tie): “Claudia: La Enfermera Trans que Lucha Contra el Covid en Ciudad Juárez” by Louisa Reynolds ( and “Somos Invisibles”: La Discriminación y los Riesgos se Multiplican para los Indígenas LGBTQ+” by Albinson Linares (

Outstanding Spanish-Language Online Journalism – Video or Multimedia: “Expulsados ​​México: Cómo la Comunidad Transgénero se Unió para Ayudar a los Migrantes” by Patricia Clarembaux, Anna Clare Spelman, and Celemente Sánchez (Univision Noticias)

Special Recognition: Not all boys are blue by George M. Johnson [filmed reading + performance]

Special Recognition: “Alok Vaid-Menon” 4D with Demi Lovato (Cadence13/OBB Sound/SB Projects)

Special Recognition: CODED: The hidden love of JC Leyendecker (Primary +)

Special Recognition: Peril! champion Amy Schneider

Special Recognition: The Laverne Cox Show (Shondaland Audio/iHeartMedia)

Special Recognition: Life Out Loud with LZ Granderson (ABC News)

Special Recognition: Outsports coverage of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games

Special recognition (Spanish language): “Celebrando el Mes del Orgullo” (Telemundo)


Comments are closed.