Small Recognized on 2022 Doak Walker Prize Watch List

DALLAS- The PwC SMU Athletic Forum released the pre-season candidates for the 2022 Doak Walker Award on Tuesday morning with the junior running back Little Jabari representing the Tennessee Volunteers.

The prestigious Doak Walker Award was established in 1989 to recognize the nation’s premier running back for his achievements on the field, his achievements in the classroom and his citizenship in the community.

Small volunteer backfield returns look to build on an impressive 2021 campaign that saw him lead the team downfield, rushing 141 times for 796 rushing yards and nine touchdowns, tied for eighth SEC rank. His nine rushing scores were the most by steal since John Kelly had nine in 2017 and he’s posted three 100-yard rushing games this season, against Bowling Green, Vanderbilt and Purdue.

His late push was capped off with a big outing at the 2021 TransPerfect Music City Bowl where the Memphis, Tenn. native ran for a career-high 180 yards, including a career-high 60-yard rush and a 2-yard TD dive. yards. This performance tied Travis Henry (2001 Cotton Bowl) for the second highest run production in a bowl match in program history.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name 10 semi-finalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced in November. The committee will proceed to a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee is made up of past recipients, former NFL All-Pro and All-America college running backs, members of the media, and selected special representatives.

The award is named after SMU’s three-time All-America running back, Doak Walker. This is the only major college award that requires all applicants to have good academic standing and be on schedule to graduate within the year of other students in the same classification.

Travis Stephens is the only flight in program history to be named a finalist for the Doak Walker Award, which he did in 2001.

2022 Tennessee Football Preseason Honors

R-Sr. KG Jeremy Banks

Lott Trophy Watchlist
All-SEC Second Team (Athlon)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Phil Steele)

Jr DL Tyler Baron
Third Team All-SEC (Athlon)

SrP Paxton Brooks
Third Team All-SEC (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Sr OL Jerome Carvin
Third Team All-SEC (Athlon)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Phil Steele)

Sr DB Trévon flowers
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

R-Sr. QC Hendon Hooker
Davey O’Brien Award Watch List
Maxwell Price Watch List
Second Team All-SEC (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Jr.RB Little Jabari
Doak Walker Price Watch List
Third Team All-SEC (Phil Steele)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

R-Sr. WR Cedric Tillman
Maxwell Price Watch List
Third Team All-American (Athlon, Phil Steele)
All-SEC First Team (Athlon, Phil Steele)

Sr OL Darnell Wright
Third Team All-SEC (Phil Steele)
All-SEC Fourth Team (Athlon)

Sr DL/LB Byron Young
All-SEC First Team (Athlon)
Second Team All-SEC (Phil Steele)


Comments are closed.