The Franklin High Band will host Sonic Boom! marching band contest


The Franklin Band, seven-time State Marching Band Champions and 2014 recipient of the prestigious Sudler Shield Award, will host Sonic Boom! on Saturday, October 1 at Franklin High School’s Howard Gamble Stadium (810 Hillsboro Road, Franklin, TN). The event starts at 5 p.m. Doors open at 3 p.m. Admission will be $12 for tickets purchased before the event (via GoFan) and $15 at the door (kids 5 and under free). Parking is free.

Eleven marching bands from Tennessee will compete for top honors in the Outstanding Music, Outstanding Visual, and Outstanding General Effect categories. Grand Champion and Reserve Grand Champion titles will also be awarded, in addition to Class A, Class AA and Class AAA trophies. The following high school groups will compete this year:

Brentwood High School

Cascade High School

Centennial High School

Fairview High School

Fred J. Page High School

Giles County High School

Green Hill Secondary School

Ravenwood High School

Shelbyville High School

Siegel High School

Summit Secondary School

The Franklin Band will perform their 2022 show, “Forever Young” on display at the end of the competition.

About the Franklin Band

The Franklin Band is a seven-time Grand Champion of the Tennessee Marching Band, winning the Governor’s Cup for this honor. The Franklin Band is also a 2014 recipient of the prestigious Sudler Shield, presented by the John Philip Sousa Foundation to world-class high school, youth and international marching bands of excellence. Highlights of the band’s performance include the Tournament of Roses Parade and Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade.

A proud Bands of America contender, Franklin placed in the top 15 bands in the nation at the BOA Grand Nationals in Indianapolis, where he also took 2nd place in Class AAA three times. In November 2021, the group placed 20th nationally at the Grand Nationals with their show “Lucy”. The Franklin High School Winter Guard was the 2015 SAA Class Champion and 2021 SA Class Champion in the SCGC (Southeastern Color Guard Circuit).

Seven of Franklin’s ensembles have been invited to perform at the Music for All National Festival–Percussion Ensemble and Wind Ensemble (2013), Chamber Music Ensemble (2015), Percussion Ensemble and Saxophone Quartet (2017) and Flute Ensemble and Trombone Ensemble (2019 ). ). Franklin’s Wind Ensemble also performed the 2017 Tennessee Bandmasters Hall of Fame Induction Concert at the Tennessee Music Education Association Conference.

The Franklin Band is under the direction of Dr. Michael Holland and Briana Vogt, assisted by Levi Brandenburg, Michael Horvath and Mike Leitzke.


Comments are closed.