Watch Tame Impala perform her first live show with a full band in 18 months in Chicago



Tame Impala first returned to live shows with a full band in 2021, kicking off his rescheduled “Rushium” tour at the United Center in Chicago on Tuesday, September 7.

The performance was the first to feature all five of the Tame Impala touring group since March 2020, where the group’s North American tour was ultimately cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The band performed songs from their four albums, including “Runway, Houses, City, Clouds” from “InnerSpeaker” – which the band hadn’t performed live since 2013.

Also on the setlist was a cover of Travis Scott’s “Skeletons,” which was produced by Tame Impala frontman Kevin Parker. During Scott Saturday Night Live performance in 2018, Parker played bass on the song, accompanied by John Mayer on guitar.

Watch a clip of the group’s version of “Skeletons” from the show below, via Travis Scott’s subReddit:

Tame Impala played SKELETONS in Chicago tonight !!! by Travisscott

Elsewhere, the group performed several of their best-known songs, including “The Less I Know the Better” – which hit one billion streams in May. They also created several preview clips of “The Slow Rush”, opening and closing the show with the album’s first and last songs, “One More Year” and “One More Hour” respectively.

Watch the group perform ‘One More Hour’ via a fan-shot video below:

After most of the band returned to Australia following the cancellation of their US tour dates last year, three of its members – Parker, along with multi-instrumentalists Dominic Simper and Jay Watson – are are united again under the name Tame Impala Sound System. The trio performed largely electronic renditions of the band’s songs over two nights at Perth’s Metro City in March of this year.

A four-way version of the group – starring drummer Julien Barbagallo, with Watson replacing Cam Avery on bass – then gave a surprise performance at the West Australian Music Awards (WAM) later in the month, playing ” Solitude is Bliss ”.

This line-up would go on to film a livestream from Wave House to Yallingup, where Parker recorded his debut album “InnerSpeaker”. The band commemorated the album’s tenth anniversary by performing it in its entirety.

Tame Impala is set to continue its tour across North America, where full proof of vaccination or a negative COVID test is required for entry. They will also give two shows at the Hollywood Bowl in Los Angeles, with Perfume Genius opening act.

Tame Impala’s setlist at the United Center in Chicago was:

  1. One year more
  2. Limit
  3. Nang
  4. Mischief of the mind
  5. Breathe more deeply
  6. Posthumous forgiveness
  7. Skeletons (Travis Scott cover)
  8. the elephant
  9. Lost yesterday
  10. Dreams of apocalypse
  11. Gossip
  12. Never mind
  13. it seems to me that we are only going backwards
  14. is it true
  15. Glow
  16. Ultimately
  17. Track, Houses, City, Clouds
  18. New person, same old mistakes
  19. The less I know, the better I am
  20. One hour more



Comments are closed.